DUI Penalties in Florida

Florida's DUI Penalties are so complicated that it helps to chart them out.

Offense Jail Jail if BAC is greater than .20 or minor in car Fine Fine if BAC is greater than .15 or minor in car Probation Auto Impound Ignition Interlock Device License Suspension
First Offense DUI 0-6 months 0-9 months $500 to $1,000 $1,000 to $2,000 Up to 1 year, including DUI School, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours of public service One vehicle for 10 days Not required, unless BAC is greater than .15 180 days to one year
Second Offense DUI where Last Conviction is within Five Years 10 day minimum, up to 9 months 10 day minimum, up to 12 months $1,000 to $2,000 $2,000 to $4,000 Up to 1 year, including DUI School, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours of public service All defendant's vehicles for at least 30 days At least 1 year (2 years if .15 BAC or higher) Not less than 5 years
Second Offense DUI where Last Conviction is outside of Five Years 0-9 months 0-12 months $1,000 to $2,000 $2,000 to $4,000 Up to 1 year, including DUI School, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours of public service One vehicle for 10 days At least 1 year (2 years if .15 BAC or higher) 180 days to one year
Third Offense where Last Conviction is within Ten Years Minimum of 30 days (at least 48 hours must be consecutive) up to five years in the Department of Corrections.  Offense level three=16 Sentencing Points Minimum of 30 days (at least 48 hours must be consecutive) up to five years in the Department of Corrections $2,000 to $5,000 Not less than $4,000 Up to 1 year, including DUI School, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours of public service All defendant's vehicles for at least 90 days At least 2 years Ten Years
Third Offense where last conviction is outside of Ten Years 0 to 12 months 0 to 12 months $2,000 to $5,000 Not less than $4,000 Up to 1 year, including DUI School, psychosocial evaluation and 50 hours of public service All defendant's vehicles for at least 90 days At least 2 years 180 days to one year
Fourth Offense Lifetime Up to five years in the Department of Corrections--Offense level six=36 Sentencing Points Up to five years in the Department of Corrections Not less than $2,000 Not less than $4,000 Up to 5 years. Not required. Not required. "Permanent" revocation, but see 2010 revision in the "permanent" revocation law.

It's probably easier to see here.

Board Certification in DUI Defense

Board_20certification_20certificate

Tom Hudson passed the National Board Certification Examination (written and oral) in Honolulu in 2008, and was recertified in 2013. He was one of the first 50 lawyers granted national board certification in DUI Defense, and is nationally recognized as an authority in DUI law.

Why We're Different

Board Certification as a DUI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense. Formal NHTSA Certification as an Instructor of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests given by police in DUI cases. Formal training as a NHTSA Drug Recognition Evaluator. ("Drug Evaluation & Classification") Formal training to operate the Intoxilyzer 8000, Florida's official breath test instrument. Extensive experience in teaching other attorneys how to handle DUI cases. Hundreds of jury trials both as defense lawyer and as prosecutor. Florida's State Delegate to the National College for DUI Defense.